Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Terrence Chalk, et al. (2020)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-terrence-chalk-et-al-2020) by email

In November 2020 the SEC charged Terrence Chalk, who used the alias Dr. Terrence Cash, and companies he controlled over a roughly US$5 million fund offering. On 15 April 2026 the Southern District of New York entered a consent judgment against Chalk with US$1,731,423 in disgorgement and US$13,078.64 in interest, treated as satisfied by a criminal restitution order; the companies were not checked.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-24954
Date filed 2020-11-03
Date resolved 2026-04-15
Court U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes: charged (Chalk), Southern District of New York, 2020-11-03
Defendants Terrence Chalk (a/k/a Dr. Terrence Cash) (individual) ; Greenlight Advantage Group Inc. (entity) ; Greenlight Investment Partners Inc. (entity)
Cited as charged or alleged Advisers Act s.206 ; Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Exchange Act s.20(a) ; Securities Act s.17(a) ; Securities Act s.5 (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
$1.7m
Prejudgment interest
$13.1k
Total relief
$1.7m
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The SEC announced the complaint on November 3, 2020 (LR-24954) in the Southern District of New York, covering 2017 to 2020 and two Greenlight entities. About $1.8 million went to dividend payments to prior investors in Ponzi-like fashion. A parallel criminal case was filed.

The Ponzi tag is removed because the release is headed a fraudulent securities offering of a fictitious fund. The record named "Terrence Chalk, et al."; the defendants are now listed.

Outcome. SEC release LR-26540 says that on 15 April 2026 the court entered a final consent judgment against Chalk. It enjoins him from violating the registration and anti-fraud provisions of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Advisers Act, and holds him liable for disgorgement of US$1,731,423 and prejudgment interest of US$13,078.64, deemed satisfied by the restitution order in United States v. Chalk in the same court. The release describes the Ponzi-like conduct as the SEC's allegation.

This outcome covers Chalk only. The two Greenlight entities named as defendants were not checked, so their status is not stated here. The release does not give a civil penalty or a prison sentence.

Timeline

  1. 2020-11-03 Litigation release published
  2. 2026-04-15 Final consent judgment against Terrence Chalk (SEC LR-26540, published 27 April 2026)

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2020-11-03 SEC SEC v. Terrence Chalk, et al. (2020)(this record) Settled
2026-04-27 SEC SEC v. Terrence Chalk (ponzi schemes, 2026) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.