Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Imran Husain, et al. (shell factories, 2019)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 3, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-imran-husain-et-al-shell-factories-2019) by email

In August 2019 the SEC reported a final consent judgment against New Jersey lawyer Gregg E. Jaclin for running a shell factory scheme with Imran Husain, in which sham companies were taken public and sold, and permanently suspended him from practising before the SEC. He must pay $40,473 in disgorgement and interest combined, faces a penny stock bar, and pays no penalty given his anticipated criminal sentence. The case against Husain continued.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-24552
Date filed 2019-08-06
Date resolved 2019-08-06
Court U.S. District Court, Central District of California
Status judgment
Asset class equities
Criminal parallel Yes: charged (Jaclin (indicted; sentence anticipated but not stated)), 2017-05-18
Bars imposed penny stock bar, suspension from SEC practice
Defendants Gregg E. Jaclin (individual) ; Imran Husain (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Securities Act s.17(a) ; Securities Act s.5 (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Shell factories

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
$40.5k
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
$40.5k
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The Securities and Exchange Commission announced this judgment on August 6, 2019 as litigation release LR-24552, in SEC v. Husain, et al., civil action 2:16-cv-03250 in the Central District of California. The release concerns the judgment against Gregg E. Jaclin; the litigation against Imran Husain was ongoing (2 individuals, 0 entities). Earlier versions of this record listed "Imran Husain, et al." and did not say that Husain had not resolved his case.

As alleged in the November 2016 amended complaint, Husain and Jaclin created nine shell companies and sold seven using the same pattern: registration statements for initial public offerings that falsely described a business plan and prior sales to private investors and omitted Husain's control, then reports signed by a puppet CEO. The SEC had issued stop orders on the last two companies before they could be sold. A grand jury indicted Jaclin in May 2017.

Without admitting or denying the allegations, Jaclin consented to an injunction under Securities Act Sections 5 and 17(a), Exchange Act Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5, with aiding and abetting findings, a penny stock bar, and payment of $40,473 as disgorgement and prejudgment interest together; the release does not split the figure. No civil penalty was imposed in light of his anticipated criminal sentence. He also agreed to a permanent suspension from appearing before the SEC.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2019-08-06 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 3 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2016-05-12 SEC SEC v. Imran Husain, et al. (shell factories, 2016) Alleged — pending
2017-05-24 SEC SEC v. Imran Husain, et al. (shell factories, 2017) Alleged — pending
2019-08-06 SEC SEC v. Imran Husain, et al. (shell factories, 2019)(this record) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Tiber Creek Corp. and James M. Cassidy (shell factories, 2019) SEC 2019-03-26 Shell Factories $75k judgment
SEC v. Delaney Equity Group LLC, David C. Delaney and Ian C. Kass (reverse merger schemes, 2018) SEC 2018-08-29 Reverse Merger Schemes , Shell Factories +1 — settled
SEC v. Diane J. Harrison, Michael J. Daniels and Catherine A. Bradaick-Zolla (shell factories, 2018) SEC 2018-04-30 Shell Factories , Undisclosed Control Blocks — judgment
SEC v. Imran Husain, et al. (shell factories, 2017) SEC 2017-05-24 Shell Factories , Undisclosed Control Blocks — filed
SEC v. Edward F. Panos, et al. (shell factories, 2016) SEC 2016-12-20 Shell Factories , Undisclosed Control Blocks $1.4m judgment
SEC v. Michael J. Muellerleile, Esq. and M2 Law Professional Corp. (shell factories, 2016) SEC 2016-12-16 Shell Factories , Undisclosed Control Blocks $70k settled

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.