Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Jeffrey Goldman and Christopher Eikenberry (2018)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-jeffrey-goldman-2018) by email

In September 2018 the SEC sued Jeffrey Goldman and Christopher Eikenberry over an alleged fraud in which Nonko Trading customers got simulated training accounts instead of live ones. On 24 January 2020 the District of New Jersey entered a consent judgment against Goldman, who the SEC then barred from the securities industry; Eikenberry's outcome was not checked.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-24257
Date filed 2018-09-05
Date resolved 2020-01-24
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes: charged (Goldman and Eikenberry)
Bars imposed industry-wide association bar, penny stock bar, conduct-based injunction
Defendants Jeffrey Goldman (individual) ; Christopher Eikenberry (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Exchange Act s.15(a) ; Securities Act s.17(a) (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The SEC announced the complaint on September 5, 2018 (LR-24257). Nonko allegedly kept customer deposits for personal use and paid some customers who wanted out with other customers' money. Both men are charged with fraud and with aiding Nonko's fraud and unregistered broker-dealer activity; the complaint asked for injunctions, disgorgement and penalties.

The record showed the matter as settled; the release reports only filed charges, and the settlements it mentions belong to other Nonko defendants. The Ponzi tag is removed because the fraud described is fake trading accounts, with Ponzi-like payments a minor detail.

An SEC administrative order of January 2020 reports the outcome for Goldman. On 24 January 2020 the District of New Jersey entered a judgment by consent permanently enjoining him from antifraud and unregistered-brokerage violations, and the Commission then barred him, by consent, from association with brokers and advisers and from penny stock offerings. The order does not state any monetary amount, so none is recorded. It does not address co-defendant Eikenberry, whose outcome was not checked, and we did not see the judgment itself.

Timeline

  1. 2018-09-05 Litigation release published
  2. 2020-01-24 Consent judgment entered enjoining Goldman; SEC bar follows by administrative order

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.