Market Manipulation. Search

This action was dismissed. The allegations described below were not established. This page is kept online so that the outcome is visible alongside the original filing.

SEBI v. S. Madhavan (Midvalley Entertainment IPO, remand order, 2024)

Dismissed

Checked against the primary document on October 9, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, in a single reading of the order; an independent second reading of 60 SEBI records agreed on every field for 56, the four misses being penalty amounts; a later sample of 50 of the SEBI records added on 9 October agreed on every field for 46. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sebi-88512-market-abuse-2024) by email

In November 2024 a SEBI adjudicating officer, acting on a remand from the Securities Appellate Tribunal, cleared S. Madhavan, a former company secretary of Midvalley Entertainment Limited, of PFUTP charges over the company's 2011 IPO. A Rs 10 lakh penalty imposed on him in 2022 without notice was not repeated.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEBI (India)
Date filed 2024-11-14
Date resolved 2024-11-14
Court SEBI adjudicating officer
Status dismissed
Asset class equities
Instruments Midvalley Entertainment Limited IPO shares
Venue BSE
Criminal parallel No
Defendants S. Madhavan (individual)
Techniques Misleading issuer disclosure

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

This order of 14 November 2024 concerns S. Madhavan, who was company secretary of Midvalley Entertainment Limited (MVEL) from June 2010 and resigned on 31 January 2011. SEBI had investigated MVEL's initial public offer on BSE, which opened on 27 January 2011, and in May 2022 an adjudication order penalised 32 entities, including Mr Madhavan, Rs 10 lakh under section 15HA for alleged PFUTP and section 12A violations.

He appealed on the ground that he had never been served the show cause notice, and in August 2024 the Securities Appellate Tribunal sent the matter back to SEBI for fresh consideration. A new adjudicating officer was appointed and heard him in September 2024, working from the original notice of January 2017 and a supplementary notice of May 2021.

SEBI's case against the company was that its prospectus did not disclose an arrangement with a related entity, Eduexel Infotainment, and a director's other directorships, and that most of the Rs 60 crore raised, put at over Rs 50 crore, was siphoned out through related entities instead of being spent on the stated object of renovating and upgrading facilities. The notices treated each signatory of the offer documents as responsible.

The officer accepted Mr Madhavan's reply. The order finds nothing on the investigation record showing he knew of the director's directorships or the related-party arrangement, no documentary evidence he took part in the financial transactions, and that the alleged diversion took place mainly in January and February 2011, around and after his resignation. The charges were held not to stand, and the notices were disposed of against him without any penalty.

The record does not show the position of the other 31 entities in the original order, any appeal by SEBI, or what the investors in the IPO recovered.

This library tags the matter as misleading issuer disclosure, since the allegation concerned an IPO prospectus and use of proceeds. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the order.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2024-11-14 SEBI order

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEBI v. Lloyds Enterprises Limited and others (advances and financial statements, settlement, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-29 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — settled
SEBI v. Omaxe Limited and others (minimum public shareholding via company funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-24 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Tarapur Transformers Limited and others (diverted funds and inflated receivables, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-31 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Trafiksol ITS Technologies Limited and others (misleading IPO prospectus, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Debock Industries Limited and others (fictitious issues, inflated sales and diverted rights-issue funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment
SEBI v. Varanium Cloud Limited and others (false accounts, diverted IPO funds and share sales, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-25 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment

Record added October 8, 2026. submit a correction.