Market Manipulation. Search

SEBI v. Texmo Pipes and Products Ltd, Arun Panchariya and others (GDR issue, 2023)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 9, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, in a single reading of the order; an independent second reading of 60 SEBI records agreed on every field for 56, the four misses being penalty amounts; a later sample of 50 of the SEBI records added on 9 October agreed on every field for 46. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sebi-68564-market-abuse-2023) by email

In February 2023 SEBI barred the company Texmo Pipes, its directors and 11 offshore intermediaries and funds, with Arun Panchariya for ten years, over a USD 9.99 million GDR issue that was financed by a loan secured on the company's own proceeds. Six noticees were ordered to disgorge Rs 14.82 crore of share-sale gains with 12 percent interest.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEBI (India)
Date filed 2023-02-28
Date resolved 2023-02-28
Court SEBI Chief General Manager (final order)
Status judgment
Asset class equities, depositary receipts
Instruments Texmo Pipes global depositary receipts and underlying shares
Venue BSE, NSE, Luxembourg Stock Exchange
Criminal parallel No
Bars imposed Arun Panchariya debarred for 10 years, Vintage FZE and Pan Asia Advisors for 8 years, Texmo and two directors for 3 years, Four sub-account funds for 5 years, Three foreign investors for 2 years, Disgorgement of Rs 14.82 crore ordered
Defendants Texmo Pipes and Products Ltd (entity) ; Sanjay Agrawal (individual) ; Vijay Prasad Pappu (individual) ; Shanti Lal Badera (individual) ; Rishabh Kumar Jain (individual) ; Arun Panchariya (individual) ; Vintage FZE (now Alta Vista International FZE) (entity) ; Mukesh Chauradiya (individual) ; Pan Asia Advisors Ltd (entity) ; India Focus Cardinal Fund (entity) ; Highblue Sky Emerging Market Fund (entity) ; Sparrow Asia Diversified Opportunities Fund (entity)
Also named elsewhere Texmo Pipes and Products Ltd is named in 1 other matter
Techniques Misleading issuer disclosure

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

This final order of 28 February 2023 was made by SEBI chief general manager Anitha Anoop. It is a 160-page order against 16 noticees: Texmo Pipes and Products Ltd, three directors and the company secretary, Arun Panchariya, Vintage FZE (also called Alta Vista International), Mr Panchariya's associate Mukesh Chauradiya, the lead manager Pan Asia Advisors, four fund sub-accounts, and three foreign institutional investors including the lending bank. Twelve are named in the record.

On 11 April 2011 Texmo issued 6,27,500 global depositary receipts raising USD 9.99 million, listed in Luxembourg. SEBI alleged that the only subscriber was Vintage, which paid with a loan from EURAM Bank, and that Texmo signed a pledge giving the bank its GDR proceeds as security, a fact not disclosed to the Indian exchanges, so investors believed foreign investors had genuinely subscribed. Mr Panchariya controlled both Vintage and Pan Asia. SEBI further alleged that four fund sub-accounts converted the GDRs and sold the underlying shares on the Indian exchanges as conduits for him, and that USD 3.49 million of the proceeds was applied to the loan after Vintage defaulted.

The order, which follows the Securities Appellate Tribunal's line in earlier GDR cases, held the charges established. It found the arrangement fraudulent from the start, the company and its directors and secretary participants who failed to disclose it, and the funds and banks conduits for sales of the shares. The gains from the sales amounted to Rs 14,82,12,803.

The directions: Texmo was barred from the securities market for three years and told to keep trying to bring back the USD 3.49 million within a year. The debarments were Mr Panchariya ten years, Vintage and Pan Asia eight years, Mr Agrawal, Mr Pappu and Mr Chauradiya three years, Mr Badera and Mr Jain one year, the four sub-accounts five years and the three institutional investors two years. Mr Panchariya and Mr Chauradiya were also barred from director and managerial roles. Mr Panchariya, Vintage and the four sub-account funds were ordered to disgorge Rs 14,82,12,803 jointly and severally, with 12 percent annual interest from 15 July 2014, to the investor protection fund within 45 days. No separate monetary penalty was imposed.

The record does not show whether the order was appealed or whether the disgorgement was recovered.

This library tags the matter as misleading issuer disclosure, because the order treats the issuer's undisclosed pledge as a deception of investors about the GDR issue. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the order.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2023-02-28 SEBI order

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEBI v. Lloyds Enterprises Limited and others (advances and financial statements, settlement, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-29 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — settled
SEBI v. Omaxe Limited and others (minimum public shareholding via company funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-24 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Tarapur Transformers Limited and others (diverted funds and inflated receivables, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-31 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Trafiksol ITS Technologies Limited and others (misleading IPO prospectus, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Debock Industries Limited and others (fictitious issues, inflated sales and diverted rights-issue funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment
SEBI v. Varanium Cloud Limited and others (false accounts, diverted IPO funds and share sales, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-25 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment

Record added October 8, 2026. submit a correction.