Market Manipulation. Search

This action was dismissed. The allegations described below were not established. This page is kept online so that the outcome is visible alongside the original filing.

SEBI v. Ishita Guha (alleged misleading merger news report, 2022)

Dismissed

Checked against the primary document on October 9, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, in a single reading of the order; an independent second reading of 60 SEBI records agreed on every field for 56, the four misses being penalty amounts; a later sample of 50 of the SEBI records added on 9 October agreed on every field for 46. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sebi-64541-market-abuse-2022) by email

In October 2022 a SEBI adjudicating officer examined whether a television journalist had made a misleading report that a tribunal had approved the merger of Bharat Financial Inclusion into IndusInd Bank. He held the fraud charges not established and disposed of the proceedings with no penalty.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEBI (India)
Date filed 2022-10-31
Date resolved 2022-10-31
Court SEBI adjudicating officer
Status dismissed
Asset class equities
Instruments Bharat Financial Inclusion shares, IndusInd Bank shares
Venue NSE, BSE
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Ishita Guha (individual)
Techniques False rumours

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The order of 31 October 2022 was made by SEBI adjudicating officer N. Hariharan. The sole noticee is Ishita Guha, then a reporter for the television channel ET Now. The matter concerns trading in Bharat Financial Inclusion Ltd, a company that later merged with IndusInd Bank.

SEBI's show cause notice, dated 24 March 2021, followed a letter from the National Company Law Tribunal. It said an ET Now channel interview with the company's chairperson on 23 April 2019 had suggested the merger was approved when the tribunal had only reserved its order. SEBI alleged Ms Guha was the source of the information passed to the anchor, that she would not name her own source, and that her report was misleading. The charge was a breach of PFUTP Regulations 3(d), 4(1), 4(2)(f) and (r), carrying penalty under section 15HA.

The adjudicating officer held that the charges did not stand established. He considered that her report to the channel, read as a whole, carried the qualification that the order was awaited, that the company itself had not disclosed the hearing until 30 April 2019, that nothing showed the hearing was closed to the public, and that the merger was in fact approved by the tribunal in June 2019. The officer found nothing connecting her report to a knowing inducement of investors or to any trading by her or by others she influenced. Regulation 4(2)(f) requires that the person know or disbelieve the information, and the officer found she had believed it.

The proceedings were disposed of with no penalty. The order added a general remark that editors and those in charge of news stories should check facts before publication.

The record does not show whether anyone traded on the report, what the price effect was, or whether SEBI appealed.

This library tags the matter as false rumors, on the allegation of a misleading news report. The charge was not made out. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the order.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2022-10-31 SEBI order

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Milan V. Patel (false rumors, 2025) SEC 2025-04-11 False Rumors — judgment
SEC v. Milan Patel (false rumors, 2023) SEC 2023-02-16 False Rumors — judgment
SEC v. Charles Parrino (false rumors, 2022) SEC 2022-09-28 False Rumors — settled
SEBI v. Bhavin Pradyumna Pandya and Rakesh Natavarlal Bhatt (bulk SMS and website tips, Global Infratech and Finance, 2022) SEBI (India) 2022-09-23 False Rumors — judgment
SEBI v. Roshan Kumar Arun Mandal and Ajay Dhirajlal Nathwani (bulk SMS tips and circular trades, Mohit Industries, 2022) SEBI (India) 2022-08-25 False Rumors , Matched Orders — judgment
SEBI v. Malay Bhow and others (bulk SMS tips, South Indian Bank options, 2022) SEBI (India) 2022-06-03 False Rumors — judgment

Record added October 8, 2026. submit a correction.