Market Manipulation. Search

SEBI v. Arcotech Limited and others (preferential allotment funded by company money, 2026)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 8, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, in a single reading of the order; an independent second reading of 60 SEBI records agreed on every field for 56, the four misses being penalty amounts; a later sample of 50 of the SEBI records added on 9 October agreed on every field for 46. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sebi-100057-misleading-issuer-disclosure-2026) by email

A SEBI order of February 2026 found that Arcotech Limited's money was used to fund a preferential share allotment to Sidhant Distributors, a promoter-group entity, and that the company failed to disclose an important event on time. It directs repayment of about Rs 9.38 crore, short market restraints on seven noticees and penalties totalling Rs 52 lakh.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEBI (India)
Date filed 2026-02-27
Date resolved 2026-02-27
Court SEBI executive director / chief general manager
Status judgment
Asset class equities
Instruments Arcotech Limited shares
Venue NSE, BSE
Criminal parallel No
Bars imposed Arcotech Limited, Mr Pattanayak, Mr Arvind Kumar Saraf and Sidhant Distributors restrained from the securities market for 6 months, Rishabh Saraf restrained for 2 months, Good Value Products and Nihon Sales restrained for 1 month
Defendants Arcotech Limited (entity) ; Radhanath Pattanayak (individual) ; Arvind Kumar Saraf (individual) ; Rishabh Saraf (individual) ; Sidhant Distributors Pvt. Ltd. (entity) ; Good Value Products Limited (entity) ; Nihon Sales Private Limited (entity) ; Arcotech Info Ltd. (entity)
Techniques Misleading issuer disclosure

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—
Penalty as published
5.2m INR

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in INR. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

The order of 27 February 2026 comes from a chief general manager of SEBI acting as quasi-judicial authority. Fourteen noticees are named, including the listed company Arcotech Limited, its managing director Radhanath Pattanayak, promoters Arvind Kumar Saraf and Rishabh Saraf, and a group of related companies led by Sidhant Distributors Pvt. Ltd. Others were named as directors, a compliance officer or promoter-group entities, and several of them faced no direction.

SEBI began with a complaint that the company was closing down without telling the public, and widened the inquiry to possible misrepresentation in its accounts and diversion of funds. The show-cause notice of 14 October 2024 alleged that part of the money used to pay for a 2019 preferential allotment of shares to Sidhant came from Arcotech itself through fictitious purchase transactions, and that the company did not disclose the seizure of a property by a lender.

The order accepts part of that case. It finds that Arcotech diverted Rs 9,37,77,985 through the allotment to Sidhant and that two other entities helped route funds, and it finds that the seizure of the Bawal property was a material event that was not disclosed in time. It also finds that four entities were late in filing a takeover-code disclosure, by 109 days. On other transactions the company produced acceptable documents and those allegations were not made out.

The directions require Arcotech to recover the Rs 9.38 crore with interest at 12 per cent a year from 30 March 2019, and Sidhant to repay it within three months. Seven noticees are restrained from the securities market for one to six months, and penalties on eleven noticees range from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 10 lakh and total Rs 52 lakh. The order treats the lack of quantified investor loss and the pandemic period as reasons for the moderate penalty.

The record does not show an appeal outcome, whether the Rs 9.38 crore was repaid, or the effect on Arcotech's share price. It describes no criminal case.

This library tags the matter as misleading issuer disclosure (use of company funds and non-disclosure). The tagging is ours, not the regulator's.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the order.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2026-02-27 SEBI final order imposing restraints and penalties

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEBI v. Lloyds Enterprises Limited and others (advances and financial statements, settlement, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-29 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — settled
SEBI v. Omaxe Limited and others (minimum public shareholding via company funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-24 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Tarapur Transformers Limited and others (diverted funds and inflated receivables, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-31 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Trafiksol ITS Technologies Limited and others (misleading IPO prospectus, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Debock Industries Limited and others (fictitious issues, inflated sales and diverted rights-issue funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment
SEBI v. Varanium Cloud Limited and others (false accounts, diverted IPO funds and share sales, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-25 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment

Record added October 8, 2026. submit a correction.