Market Manipulation. Search

OSC v. Royal Bank of Canada (front running, 2019)

Settled

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2019, the regulator settled an action with Royal Bank of Canada, alleging conduct this library classifies as front running, fx fixing, insider trading, layering and wash trading. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency OSC
Release number 2019-32
Date filed 2019-08-26
Date resolved 2019-08-30
Court Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario)
Status settled
Asset class bonds, fx
Venue OTC
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Royal Bank of Canada (entity)
Techniques Front running , FX fixing , Insider trading , Layering , Wash trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the regulator announced this matter on August 26, 2019 as release 2019-32. The respondents named are Royal Bank of Canada (0 individuals, 1 entity). The action was brought in the Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario).

This library tags the matter as front running, fx fixing, insider trading, layering and wash trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against bonds and fx, with OTC identified in the release.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 5 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2019-08-23 Settlement Agreement
  2. 2019-08-26 Notice of Hearing
  3. 2019-08-26 Statement of Allegations
  4. 2019-08-30 Reasons and Decision
  5. 2019-08-30 Reasons and Decision

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
OSC v. The Toronto-Dominion Bank (benchmark submission rigging, 2019) OSC 2019-08-26 Benchmark Submission Rigging , Front Running +3 settled
CFTC v. unnamed respondents (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-02-25 Insider Trading , Wash Trading settled
Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-12-12 Insider Trading , Price Manipulation +1 judgment
SEC v. SpeedRoute LLC (layering, 2025) SEC 2025-01-10 Layering , Pump And Dump +2 settled
CFTC v. FTX (exchange wash trading, 2024) CFTC 2024-12-04 Exchange Wash Trading , Insider Trading +3 judgment
SEC v. Lightspeed Financial Services Group LLC (layering, 2024) SEC 2024-11-22 Layering , Wash Trading settled

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.