Market Manipulation. Search

OSC v. Zhen (Steven) Pang and Oasis World Trading Inc. (price manipulation, 2015)

Settled

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2015, the regulator settled an action with Zhen (Steven) Pang and Oasis World Trading Inc., alleging conduct this library classifies as price manipulation and spoofing. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency OSC
Date filed 2015-12-10
Date resolved 2015-12-14
Court Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario)
Status settled
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Zhen (Steven) Pang (individual) ; Oasis World Trading Inc. (entity)
Techniques Price manipulation , Spoofing

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain
Penalty as published
C$225k

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in CAD. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

the regulator announced this matter on December 10, 2015. The respondents named are Zhen (Steven) Pang and Oasis World Trading Inc. (1 individual, 1 entity). The action was brought in the Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario).

This library tags the matter as price manipulation and spoofing, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2015-12-10 Notice of Hearing
  2. 2015-12-10 Statement of Allegations
  3. 2015-12-11 Settlement Agreement
  4. 2015-12-14 Reasons and Decision

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
CFTC v. HSBC Bank USA (cash vs derivatives schemes, 2023) CFTC 2023-11-07 Cash Vs Derivatives Schemes , Insider Trading +2 $1.7bn filed
CFTC v. unnamed respondents (cash vs derivatives schemes, 2022) CFTC 2022-10-20 Cash Vs Derivatives Schemes , Exchange Wash Trading +4 $41m judgment
FCA v. Corrado Abbattista (layering, 2020) FCA 2020-12-15 Layering , Price Manipulation +1 unknown
CFTC v. JPMorgan (price manipulation, 2020) CFTC 2020-09-29 Price Manipulation , Spoofing judgment
CFTC v. Chicago Trading Firm and Its Co-Founder (price manipulation, 2019) CFTC 2019-09-30 Price Manipulation , Spoofing $1.8m judgment
CFTC v. Traders at Major U.S. Bank (price manipulation, 2019) CFTC 2019-09-16 Price Manipulation , Spoofing filed

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.