Market Manipulation. Search

This action was dismissed. The allegations described below were not established. This page is kept online so that the outcome is visible alongside the original filing.

OSC v. Matthew John Hamilton (undisclosed control blocks, 2020)

Dismissed

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2020, the regulator brought an action, since dismissed, against Matthew John Hamilton, alleging conduct this library classifies as undisclosed control blocks. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency OSC
Release number 2020-2
Date filed 2020-01-31
Date resolved 2020-03-27
Court Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario)
Status dismissed
Asset class equities, futures
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Matthew John Hamilton (individual)
Techniques Undisclosed control blocks

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the regulator announced this matter on January 31, 2020 as release 2020-2. The respondents named are Matthew John Hamilton (1 individual, 0 entities). The action was brought in the Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario).

This library tags the matter as undisclosed control blocks, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against equities and futures.

The action was dismissed. We keep dismissed matters in the library precisely so that the outcome is visible alongside the original allegation.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2020-01-30 Statement of Allegations
  2. 2020-01-31 Notice of Hearing
  3. 2020-03-27 Reasons and Decision
  4. 2020-03-27 Reasons and Decision

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Airborne Wireless Network and others (pump and dump, 2025) SEC 2025-02-07 Pump And Dump , Undisclosed Control Blocks judgment
SEC v. Adage Capital Management, L.P. (undisclosed control blocks, 2024) SEC 2024-09-25 Undisclosed Control Blocks settled
SEC v. Alphabet Inc. (undisclosed control blocks, 2024) SEC 2024-09-25 Undisclosed Control Blocks settled
SEC v. David L. Kanen (undisclosed control blocks, 2024) SEC 2024-09-25 Undisclosed Control Blocks settled
SEC v. Essex Woodlands Management, Inc. (undisclosed control blocks, 2024) SEC 2024-09-25 Undisclosed Control Blocks settled
SEC v. Oaktree Capital Management, L.P. (undisclosed control blocks, 2024) SEC 2024-09-25 Undisclosed Control Blocks settled

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.