Market Manipulation. Search

OSC v. David Tuan Seng Lim and Michael Mugford (price manipulation, 2018)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2018, the regulator brought an action against David Tuan Seng Lim and Michael Mugford, alleging conduct this library classifies as price manipulation. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency OSC
Release number 2018-14
Date filed 2018-03-28
Date resolved 2018-07-19
Court Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario)
Status unknown
Asset class equities
Criminal parallel No
Defendants David Tuan Seng Lim (individual) ; Michael Mugford (individual)
Techniques Price manipulation

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain
Penalty as published
C$800k

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in CAD. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

the regulator announced this matter on March 28, 2018 as release 2018-14. The respondents named are David Tuan Seng Lim and Michael Mugford (2 individuals, 0 entities). The action was brought in the Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario).

This library tags the matter as price manipulation, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against equities.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2018-03-27 Statement of Allegations
  2. 2018-03-28 Notice of Hearing
  3. 2018-07-19 Reasons and Decision
  4. 2018-07-19 Reasons and Decision

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
CFTC v. George Santos (price manipulation, 2026) CFTC 2026-07-31 Price Manipulation $35k judgment
Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-12-12 Insider Trading , Price Manipulation +1 judgment
ASIC v. Delta Power (price manipulation, 2025) ASIC 2025-06-30 Price Manipulation unknown
Victorian man charged over alleged market manipulation (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-03-14 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading filed
CFTC v. Swiss Energy Trader (price manipulation, 2024) CFTC 2024-08-27 Price Manipulation $48m judgment
ASIC v. COFCO International Australia Pty Ltd (marking the close, 2024) ASIC 2024-07-24 Marking The Close , Price Manipulation unknown

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.