Market Manipulation. Search

ASIC v. D J Carmichael Pty Limited (price manipulation, 2015)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2015, the Australian Securities and Investments Commission brought an action against D J Carmichael Pty Limited, alleging conduct this library classifies as price manipulation. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency ASIC
Release number 15-265MR
Date filed 2015-09-23
Status unknown
Criminal parallel No
Defendants D J Carmichael Pty Limited (entity)
Techniques Price manipulation

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain
Penalty as published
A$300k

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in AUD. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

the Australian Securities and Investments Commission announced this matter on September 23, 2015 as release 15-265MR. The respondents named are D J Carmichael Pty Limited (0 individuals, 1 entity).

This library tags the matter as price manipulation, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2015-09-23 ASIC media release

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
CFTC v. George Santos (price manipulation, 2026) CFTC 2026-07-31 Price Manipulation $35k judgment
Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-12-12 Insider Trading , Price Manipulation +1 judgment
ASIC v. Delta Power (price manipulation, 2025) ASIC 2025-06-30 Price Manipulation unknown
Victorian man charged over alleged market manipulation (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-03-14 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading filed
CFTC v. Swiss Energy Trader (price manipulation, 2024) CFTC 2024-08-27 Price Manipulation $48m judgment
ASIC v. COFCO International Australia Pty Ltd (marking the close, 2024) ASIC 2024-07-24 Marking The Close , Price Manipulation unknown

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.